Northern Territory, car licence

All 100 NT learner practice questions, with answers

All 100 original Northern Territory practice questions for the car licence are on this page, in 12 topics, the largest topic being give way and intersections with 10 questions. They were written for this site and dated 28 August 2026, they are not the official question bank, and each one carries the correct answer and the rule behind it.

Reviewed on

12 topics

Give way and intersections is the only topic here with 10 questions, one ahead of the rest. The bank holds 100 questions in 12 topics. Seven topics hold 9: speed limits, roundabouts, traffic lights and signs, signals and lane use, overtaking and following, alcohol, drugs and fatigue, and pedestrians and vulnerable road users. Seatbelts and passengers, mobile phones and distraction, and parking and stopping each hold 8. Emergencies and hazards holds 3. Studying intersections alone leaves most of the 100 unread. Start with the seven topics of 9, then the three topics of 8. Emergencies and hazards is the short section.

You are preparing for the NT DriveSafe NT knowledge test. Pass it, get a learner licence, practise with supervision for at least six continuous months, then pass the practical driving test for a provisional licence. The Northern Territory Government licensing path lists no separate hazard perception test. The Northern Territory does not run a log book system. It recommends about 20 hours to learn the controls and another 80 hours to become a low risk driver. Those hours are a recommendation. The six continuous months is the requirement. The question count and the pass mark are not confirmed against the Northern Territory Government, so neither is stated here. The test is sat at a Motor Vehicle Registry office for $20. DriveSafe NT enrolment is $110 and covers that fee, along with the learner and provisional licence fees. No practical driving assessment pass rate has been confirmed.

They are original practice questions written for this site and not the official question bank, and the official handbook the Northern Territory Government publishes remains the authority. Northern Territory Government does not publish the NT DriveSafe NT knowledge test question bank, so this is not the wording of the sitting. Each question was written against the current Northern Territory road rules, with the rule cited under the answer. The set was dated 28 August 2026.

Where these questions come from

Original practice questions written for this site. Not the official question bank. They were written against the current Northern Territory road rules, with the rule cited under every answer. Northern Territory Government does not publish the NT DriveSafe NT knowledge test question bank, so nothing on this page is the wording you will meet in the sitting.

Questions and pass mark: Being verified. No question count or pass mark for the NT DriveSafe NT knowledge test has been confirmed against Northern Territory Government, so this page does not state one.

Why the whole set is on the page

These questions were written for this site, so there is no reason to put them behind an account. Reading them is not the same as being ready for the sitting, though: the NT knowledge test simulator draws from them in the shape of a sitting, and the 20 tests in the NT ladder mark each answer with the rule underneath it.

Where these questions come from

Original practice questions written for this site. Not the official question bank. They were written against the current Northern Territory road rules, with the rule cited under every answer. Northern Territory Government does not publish the NT DriveSafe NT knowledge test question bank, so nothing on this page is the wording you will meet in the sitting.

Questions and pass mark: Being verified. No question count or pass mark for the NT DriveSafe NT knowledge test has been confirmed against Northern Territory Government, so this page does not state one.