Tasmania, car licence
Free Tasmania Learners Test Practice
Start the free Tasmania learners test practiceBrowse TAS questionsTAS motorcycle tests
Free Tasmania learners test practice starts here, with 20 tests drawn from 100 questions, no account and no paywall. In Tasmania, a car learner sits the TAS knowledge test. Its question count and pass mark are being verified against Service Tasmania, so this page states neither. There is no fee to sit it. Source: Service Tasmania, checked 27 August 2026.

Where these questions come from
Service Tasmania does not publish the TAS knowledge test question bank. The 100 questions here are original practice questions written for this site against the current Tasmania road rules, with the rule cited on every answer. They are not the official questions and nothing on this page says otherwise.
The road sign questions, and the sign artwork with them, were written and drawn for this site as well.
The numbers that decide the day
Each figure below names where it came from and when it was last checked. Anything we have not checked ourselves says so rather than guessing.
- Knowledge test
- TAS knowledge test
- Source: Service Tasmania, checked 27 August 2026.
- Questions
- Being verified
- Source: Service Tasmania, checked 27 August 2026.
- Pass mark
- Being verified
- No pass mark for the TAS knowledge test has been confirmed against Service Tasmania, so this site does not state one, here or on any test page.
- Fee
- Free
- Booked through Service Tasmania. Source: Service Tasmania, checked 27 August 2026.
- Logbook hours
- Being verified
- Supervised hour requirements are being checked against Service Tasmania before publication. Source: Service Tasmania, checked 27 August 2026.
- Practical driving assessment pass rate
- Being verified
- No published Practical driving assessment pass rate for TAS has been confirmed, so this site does not state one.
- Questions on this site
- 100 in the draw
- Counted off the bank on disk on the day this page was built.
Common questions
Every answer here is the same figure the panel above carries, with the agency it was read from and the date it was checked.
- Question
- How many questions are in the Tasmania learners test?
- No question count for the TAS knowledge test has been confirmed against Service Tasmania, so this site does not state one and the row above reads being verified. Source: Service Tasmania, checked 27 August 2026.
- Question
- What is the pass mark for the Tasmania learners test?
- No pass mark for the TAS knowledge test has been confirmed against Service Tasmania, so this site does not state one, here or on any test page. Source: Service Tasmania, checked 27 August 2026.
- Question
- How much does the Tasmania learners test cost?
- Free. Booked through Service Tasmania. Source: Service Tasmania, checked 27 August 2026.
- Question
- How many supervised hours do TAS learners need?
- Supervised hour requirements are being checked against Service Tasmania before publication. Source: Service Tasmania, checked 27 August 2026.
- Question
- What is the Practical driving assessment pass rate in Tasmania?
- No Tasmanian statewide practical pass rate with a named publisher has been confirmed, so no figure is shown.
- Question
- Where do the Tasmania learners test practice questions on this site come from?
- Service Tasmania does not publish the TAS knowledge test question bank. The 100 questions here were written for this site against the current Tasmania road rules, with the rule cited on every answer. They are not the official questions.
The TAS ladder, in order
Work down it. Each stage says how big it is before you commit to anything in it.
The essentials
Start here: numbered sets that between them cover the pool once without repeating a question, the whole pool in one sitting, and a short check to find your weak topics. 6 tests, 10 to 100 questions
- Practice Test 1Set 1 of 4. None of its 25 questions appear in the other 3.Start
- Practice Test 2Set 2 of 4. None of its 25 questions appear in the other 3.Start
- Practice Test 3Set 3 of 4. None of its 25 questions appear in the other 3.Start
- Practice Test 4Set 4 of 4. None of its 25 questions appear in the other 3.Start
- MarathonEvery question in the pool, one after another, marked as you answer with a running score. Your place is kept in this browser, so you can stop and pick it up later.Open
- Quick checkA short run marked as you answer, to show roughly where you stand before you spend an hour on the wrong topic.Practise
Harder situations and road signs
Intersections, roundabouts, lane rules and the signs people read the wrong way round. 7 tests, 9 to 25 questions Topic drills are marked as you answer, with the source under each question. Your place is kept in this browser.
- Road signs25 questions that put the sign on the screen and ask what it means, marked as you answer. These are original questions written for this site, and the artwork is drawn here rather than taken from an official file.Practise
- Signs and rules mixed10 sign questions shuffled through 15 written questions, so you read artwork and prose in the same run rather than one after the other. Scored at the end.Start
- Give way and intersections drillPractise
- Roundabouts drillPractise
- Traffic lights and signs drillPractise
- Overtaking and following drillPractise
- Signals and lane use drillPractise
The rules that carry penalties
Speed, alcohol and drugs, phones, restraints, pedestrians and parking, which cost drivers more marks than they expect. 6 tests, 8 to 10 questions Topic drills are marked as you answer, with the source under each question. Your place is kept in this browser.
The exam simulator
A full length run with answers held back to the end, and no pass mark claimed for it. 1 test, 30 questions
The challenge deck
Every question you answer wrong on this site goes into one deck kept in this browser, car and motorcycle together, with nothing sent anywhere and no account behind it.
The TAS path after the knowledge test
The Tasmanian Hazard Perception Test is free and online, shows 25 clips with 13 correct needed to pass, and must be passed before you book the P1 practical driving assessment.
With a novice learner or L1 licence, you can sit the test any time from 3 months before your earliest P1 practical assessment date. Non-novice learners, and people converting some overseas licences, can sit it straight after passing the driver knowledge test. Your supervised hours do not need to be finished first. The test was introduced on 7 March 2022 and is now required for most learners.
A Tasmanian novice learner holds the licence for at least 12 continuous months and completes 80 logbook hours, 15 of them at night. The HPT fits near the end of that stage: it opens 3 months before the earliest P1 assessment date and has to be passed before that assessment is booked.
Each clip shows a driving situation. You click Take action when it is safe to act or when you need to avoid a hazard, and let the clip play out if no action is safe. Only four actions appear, one per clip: overtake, move off, turn right and slow down. All 25 clips must be attempted before a score is calculated. You have 45 minutes, most people need about 20, and you should allow another 5 to 10 minutes for the instructions and practice questions.
Free, including every reattempt.
Online through Plates Plus, anywhere you have internet access. Without home internet or mobile data you can use a library, a community online access centre, a Service Tasmania public access computer, which is not a knowledge test terminal, or a school outside class time.
A practice test exists, but only for people who can already access the HPT. Plates Plus says there is no separate practice test outside it, and recommends doing the practice before your first attempt.
You can try again straight away, with no lock-out and no limit on attempts. You cannot see which questions you got wrong. A pass is valid for 12 months, and if you do not pass the practical driving assessment within that time you must pass the HPT again.
Plates Plus recommends doing the optional practice test before your first attempt. If you are transferring a learner licence from another state and have already passed a hazard perception test there, its FAQs explain how to prove it.
Tasmania separates novice practice into L1 and L2. Thirty supervised hours are recommended while on L1, then 50 are required during L2 before the practical assessment can proceed. A novice learner holds the licence for at least 12 continuous months, so the earliest P1 assessment date is 12 months from issue. Department of State Growth Tasmania records the L1 and L2 arrangement, checked 28 August 2026.
The free online Hazard Perception Test opens three months before that earliest assessment date. It has 25 clips and needs 13 correct, and it must be passed before the practical driving assessment is booked. Plates Plus Tasmania, checked 15 September 2026, names the free test and immediate reattempts. Service Tasmania remains the agency source for the knowledge test. No statewide practical pass rate with a named publisher has been confirmed here.
The Tasmanian knowledge test is booked through Service Tasmania and carries no fee, which makes it the cheapest entry point in the country. We are checking the current question count and pass mark against the Tasmanian source before we publish them, rather than repeating the numbers other sites carry.
Supervised hour requirements are being checked against Service Tasmania before publication.
A free knowledge test does not remove the need to prepare for the practical driving assessment.
No verified pass rate is published here for the Practical driving assessment.
Source: Plates Plus Tasmania, checked 15 September 2026. Sources read: Plates Plus Tasmania: Hazard perception test FAQs; Plates Plus Tasmania: Summary of novice car licensing pathway; Plates Plus Tasmania: Hazard Perception Test; Transport Services Tasmania: Driving assessments.
How the TAS knowledge test runs
The Tasmanian knowledge test is booked through Service Tasmania and carries no fee, which makes it the cheapest entry point in the country. We are checking the current question count and pass mark against the Tasmanian source before we publish them, rather than repeating the numbers other sites carry.
Hazard Perception Test
Free and online, from 3 months before your earliest P1 assessment date, and passed before you book that assessment. 25 clips with 13 correct to pass, and a failed attempt can be taken again straight away. Read on Plates Plus Tasmania on 15 September 2026.
The TAS Hazard Perception Test in full: when you can sit it, the format, the fee and the official practice.
Where TAS learners come unstuck
A free knowledge test does not remove the need to prepare for the practical driving assessment.
Read up before you practise
The motorcycle tests for Tasmania, the sign library, the guides written for TAS, and the documents the facts above came from.
- TAS motorcycle practice tests11 rider tests drawn from 70 questions. Original rider questions written against the current Tasmania road rules.
- Every TAS practice question on this site, with answersAll 100 original questions, grouped by topic, with the correct answer marked and the rule cited under each one. Not the official question bank.
- Road sign libraryEvery sign drawn from scratch and grouped the way the tests group them, with what each one asks you to do.
- Is the Tasmanian knowledge test free?Tasmania's knowledge test is free. This guide names the $40.68 learner and $108.93 P1 fees we checked and explains the practical assessment.
- What is checked, and what is notService Tasmania publishes a handbook and the road rules but not a question bank, so the questions here are ours. This page says which facts are confirmed and which are still open.
- Compare all 8 jurisdictionsFees, pass marks, logbook hours and practical pass rates side by side, each figure carrying its source.
The largest topics in the TAS bank, each readable in full on its own page: Give way and intersections (10), Parking and stopping (10), Traffic lights and signs (10), Alcohol drugs and fatigue (9).
Sources
- Service Tasmania, knowledge test booking and fees
- Road sign questions and sign artwork, written and drawn for this site rather than taken from an official file.
- Service Tasmania, licensing front door. The place to start on the agency site. Each figure above names the agency it was read from and the date it was checked, which is what the facts file records, rather than this link.
Facts on this page were checked on 27 August 2026. Agency names are the current ones. If a rule changes, the page changes and the review date moves with it. This site is independent and is not affiliated with Service Tasmania or any other licensing authority.