Northern Territory, motorcycle licence
All 70 NT rider practice questions, with answers
All 70 original Northern Territory practice questions for the motorcycle licence are on this page, in 11 topics, the largest topic being protective gear and helmets with 8 questions. They were written for this site and dated 28 August 2026, they are not the official question bank, and each one carries the correct answer and the rule behind it.
A learner rider must not exceed 80 km/h, including on the Stuart and Barkly highways, where the limit is 130 km/h and road trains may be up to 53.5 metres long. The 70 questions sit in 11 topics. Three topics tie at 8, the largest count: protective gear and helmets, licence and learner rules, and remote and long distance riding. No other jurisdiction's bank carries remote and long distance riding. Braking and road surfaces and hazards hold 7 each. Motorcycle control, cornering and counter steering, and lane position and buffering hold 6 each. Being seen and group riding and passengers hold 5 each. Road rules holds 4. Spend most of your time on the three topics of 8, and do not skip road rules.
None of those topics is in the car bank. You may start at 16 as a Motor Vehicle Registry customer. The motorcycle must be on the New South Wales approved list, at no more than 150 kilowatts per tonne and no more than 660cc. A pillion passenger is prohibited, and blood or breath alcohol concentration must remain zero. Lane filtering is limited to an unrestricted, full or open motorcycle licence, at 30 km/h or less, between stationary or slow moving traffic proceeding in the same direction. A learner or provisional licence does not qualify. Lane splitting is illegal. Edge filtering is not permitted anywhere in the Territory, the opposite of Queensland, which allows edge filtering on its own conditions.
No rider test name, question count or pass mark has been confirmed against the Northern Territory Government, so none is stated. Fees and licence steps are not confirmed either. The Northern Territory Government licensing path lists no separate hazard perception test. They are original practice questions written for this site and not the official question bank, and the official Northern Territory motorcycle rider handbook remains the authority. Of the 70 answers, 61 cite that handbook and the rest cite the Australian Road Rules and NT Government.
Where these questions come from
Original practice questions written for this site. Not the official question bank. The number of questions and the pass mark for the Northern Territory rider knowledge test are not stated here because they have not been verified against the licensing authority. They were written against the current Northern Territory road rules for riders, with the rule cited under every answer. Northern Territory Government does not publish a motorcycle question bank, so nothing on this page is the wording you will meet in the sitting.
Questions and pass mark: Being verified. No question count or pass mark for the rider knowledge test in Northern Territory has been confirmed against Northern Territory Government, so this page does not state one.
The topics, in the order the set runs
70 questions across 11 topics, every one of them in the practice draw.
- Protective gear and helmets, 8 questions
- Licence and learner rules, 8 questions
- Motorcycle control, 6 questions
- Braking, 7 questions
- Cornering and counter steering, 6 questions
- Road surfaces and hazards, 7 questions
- Lane position and buffering, 6 questions
- Being seen, 5 questions
- Group riding and passengers, 5 questions
- Remote and long distance riding, 8 questions
- Road rules, 4 questions
Why the whole set is on the page
These questions were written for this site, so there is no reason to put them behind an account. Reading them is not the same as being ready for the sitting, though: the NT motorcycle practice test simulator draws from them in the shape of a sitting, and the 10 tests in the NT rider ladder mark each answer with the rule underneath it.
Where these questions come from
Original practice questions written for this site. Not the official question bank. The number of questions and the pass mark for the Northern Territory rider knowledge test are not stated here because they have not been verified against the licensing authority. They were written against the current Northern Territory road rules for riders, with the rule cited under every answer. Northern Territory Government does not publish a motorcycle question bank, so nothing on this page is the wording you will meet in the sitting.
Questions and pass mark: Being verified. No question count or pass mark for the rider knowledge test in Northern Territory has been confirmed against Northern Territory Government, so this page does not state one.
Read alongside it
The practice tests these questions feed, the other licence class, and the guides written for NT.
- NT motorcycle practice tests10 tests drawn from 70 questions, in a ladder from short drills to a full length run.
- NT car practice testsThe other licence class for Northern Territory, with its own ladder and its own question bank.
- Every NT car question, with answersThe same browser for the car bank, topic by topic.
- How many questions are in the DriveSafe NT test?The NT knowledge test is 30 questions with 26 to pass. This guide names the $20 fee, $29 learner licence, six-month hold, and why there is no logbook.