South Australia, car licence

Hazard Perception Test SA (HPT)

The South Australian hazard perception test costs $37, can be taken online through mySAGOV or in person at certain Service SA centres, and must be passed before you can apply for a P1 provisional licence.

Reviewed on

Source: Department for Infrastructure and Transport, read 15 September 2026

The SA HPT at a glance

Official name
Hazard perception test (HPT)
When you can sit it
Before a P1 licence. No separate minimum learner period is stated for it.
Format
Film clips of real traffic, practice questions first, online or in person.
Pass mark
Not stated on the official pages read
Fee
$37. Online you pay when you enrol and can attempt the test as often as you need for 12 months at no extra cost. In person the $37 fee is charged for each attempt.

Official practice

No public practice test link appears on the pages read. The practice questions run inside the test itself, before the scored questions start.

From learner licence to provisional licence

South Australia puts the test between the learner's permit and the P1 licence. After it, you still need the permit time and supervised hours above, and a pass in either the Vehicle On Road Test or competency based training and assessment, before the P1 is issued.

Who can sit it, and when

You need to pass the test to move from a learner's permit to a P1 provisional licence, and it also applies when you transfer an overseas licence. The hazard perception test pages read do not set a minimum learner period for the test itself. The P1 licence has its own rules: you must be at least 17, have held the learner's permit for 12 full calendar months if you are under 25 or six full calendar months if you are 25 or older, and have at least 75 hours of supervised driving including 15 hours at night.

What happens in the sitting

You start with an introduction and instructions, then practice questions, then the test. Each question is a film clip of a real traffic situation seen from the driver's seat, with the dashboard showing your speed and whether the indicators are on. You are told what the driver wants to do, such as move off, turn right, slow down or overtake, and you decide if and when it is safe. Questions are drawn at random from a larger pool, each is shown once, and an answer cannot be changed. The pages read do not state how many clips there are.

Where to sit it

Online by logging in to mySAGOV in a web browser, not the mobile app, and choosing Enrol in hazard perception test. In person at certain Service SA centres, booked on 13 10 84 between 9:30 am and 4 pm on weekdays, with Saturday bookings at the Elizabeth and Marion centres.

If you do not pass

Online, you can retake the test as many times as you need within 12 months of enrolling. In person, each new attempt costs another $37.

Preparing, and what else the agency says

The My Licence guide to the test walks through the crash patterns of provisional drivers and the skills the clips measure: keeping a safe following distance and safe space to the side and rear, selecting safe gaps when turning left or right, making U-turns, crossing intersections and overtaking, scanning for hazards and expecting the unexpected. It says a lack of these skills is a major factor in crashes involving young novice drivers. If you pass, the final screen gives feedback on areas to improve.

About the video clips

Aussie Learner does not host the official HPT video clips. The footage is the agency's protected material, so use the official practice where one is published and build the scanning habit on supervised drives.

Common questions

When can I take the SA hazard perception test?

Before a P1 licence. No separate minimum learner period is stated for it.

What happens in the SA HPT?

Film clips of real traffic, practice questions first, online or in person.

What is the SA HPT pass mark?

Department for Infrastructure and Transport does not state a numeric pass mark on the pages read.

How much is the SA hazard perception test?

$37

Is there an official SA HPT practice test?

No public practice test link appears on the pages read. The practice questions run inside the test itself, before the scored questions start.