Queensland, car licence

Hazard Perception Test QLD (HPT)

The Queensland car hazard perception test is an online test of 25 computer generated videos, separate from PrepL and costing $42.70, and every learner must pass it before booking a practical driving test.

Reviewed on

Source: Department of Transport and Main Roads, read 15 September 2026

The QLD HPT at a glance

Official name
Car hazard perception test
When you can sit it
After holding a learner licence for at least 6 months.
Format
25 computer generated videos online, about 15 to 30 minutes.
Pass mark
Not stated on the official pages read
Fee
$42.70 as at 1 July 2026, the same fee for the car and motorcycle tests. You pay before you get access, and access lasts up to 12 months.

Official practice

A practice test opens once you have enrolled, and you can repeat it as many times as you like before the real test. There is no separate public practice test, though the About hazard perception tests page shows two short example scenario videos.

From learner licence to provisional licence

A Queensland learner licence can only be upgraded to a provisional licence once it has been held for at least 12 months, 100 hours of supervised driving are approved in the logbook, the hazard perception test is passed and the practical driving test is passed. The hazard perception test has to come before the practical, because you cannot book the practical until it is passed.

Who can sit it, and when

You must have held your learner licence for at least 6 months. If you have an email address registered with the Department of Transport and Main Roads, it emails you when you can take the test. All learner drivers, whatever their age, must pass it, and there are no exemptions.

What happens in the sitting

The test is online and shows 25 computer generated videos. You show how you would react to each situation, and the situations are based on the ones novice drivers and riders find most challenging. It takes about 15 to 30 minutes and must be finished in one sitting, because progress cannot be saved. The department recommends a laptop or desktop computer for the bigger screen, and on a mobile you need to be able to see the screen clearly. It describes the purpose as checking whether you can recognise potentially dangerous situations or hazards and respond to them safely.

Where to sit it

Online, after you enrol and pay through the Department of Transport and Main Roads. The Indigenous Driver Licensing Unit can deliver an offline version of the car test during its visits to communities.

If you do not pass

You can attempt the test as many times as you like, with no lock-out period between attempts, while your access lasts. A pass is confirmed by email with the steps to the next licence stage.

Preparing, and what else the agency says

Instructions appear once you enrol, followed by the practice test. Set aside uninterrupted time and stay connected to the internet for at least the 15 to 30 minutes the test takes. If you cannot complete the online car test, message the department or call 13 23 80. Two groups outside the usual learner path also sit it: drivers issued a P1 licence before 29 March 2021 must pass it before moving to a P2 or open licence, after holding the P1 for at least 1 year, and some returning drivers whose last licence was a P1 must pass it before booking a practical driving test. Riders sit a separate motorcycle hazard perception test, which has no offline version. For comparison, the same fee page lists PrepL at $29.70 and the practical driving test at $69.40 as at 1 July 2026, and the two example videos, a car waiting to turn right and a motorcycle on the road, each run 17 seconds with a transcript.

About the video clips

Aussie Learner does not host the official HPT video clips. The footage is the agency's protected material, so use the official practice where one is published and build the scanning habit on supervised drives.

Common questions

When can I take the QLD hazard perception test?

After holding a learner licence for at least 6 months.

What happens in the QLD HPT?

25 computer generated videos online, about 15 to 30 minutes.

What is the QLD HPT pass mark?

Department of Transport and Main Roads does not state a numeric pass mark on the pages read.

How much is the QLD hazard perception test?

$42.70

Is there an official QLD HPT practice test?

A practice test opens once you have enrolled, and you can repeat it as many times as you like before the real test. There is no separate public practice test, though the About hazard perception tests page shows two short example scenario videos.