New South Wales, car licence

Hazard Perception Test NSW (HPT)

The NSW Hazard Perception Test is a touch screen test of 15 short videos, sat at a Service NSW centre for $58 an attempt, and you must pass it before the Driving Test for a provisional P1 licence.

Reviewed on

Source: Transport for NSW and Service NSW, read 15 September 2026

The NSW HPT at a glance

Official name
Hazard Perception Test (HPT)
When you can sit it
Under 25: after 10 months on a learner licence. 25 or over: when ready.
Format
15 scored videos after 2 practice videos, on a touch screen.
Pass mark
Not stated on the official pages read
Fee
$58 for each attempt, paid when you book, on the NSW fee schedule effective 1 July 2026.

Official practice

Transport for NSW publishes no official practice test. Its HPT page says third party HPT practice tests are not the same as the NSW test and will not help you pass, and it names the Hazard Perception Handbook as the way to prepare.

From learner licence to provisional licence

Service NSW lists two remaining steps between a learner licence and a provisional P1 licence: pass the HPT, then pass the practical Driving Test. You cannot sit the Driving Test until the HPT is passed, so the HPT is the last computer based test before you drive with an examiner.

Who can sit it, and when

You need a current NSW learner driver licence. If you are under 25, you can sit the test once you have held that licence for at least 10 months. If you are 25 or older, you can sit it as soon as you hold a learner licence and feel ready. Transport for NSW suggests booking it when you are close to ready for the Driving Test, and says there is no pressure to sit it at a particular time.

What happens in the sitting

The test is computer based and runs on a touch screen. You get 2 practice videos, then 15 short videos. In each one you touch the screen to show when you would slow down, overtake or turn at an intersection. The questions focus on common crash situations for provisional drivers. Transport for NSW describes the purpose as making sure you have the hazard perception skills to drive solo, by measuring how well you recognise potentially dangerous situations on the road.

Where to sit it

At a Service NSW centre. You book through Service NSW and prove your identity when you attend. If you have trouble reading the questions, staff at the centre can read them to you and explain them, and you arrange that by calling 13 22 13 before you book.

If you do not pass

You can sit the test as many times as you need, paying the fee each time. A pass is valid for 15 months, and if you have not passed the Driving Test inside that time you must sit the HPT again.

Preparing, and what else the agency says

Transport for NSW's advice is to read the Hazard Perception Handbook, a 2.16MB PDF you can download or buy printed at a service centre, brush up on safe driving behaviour, consider the Safer Drivers Course and get as much driving experience as you can. The test is offered in English, Arabic, Chinese, Croatian, Greek, Korean, Serbian, Spanish, Turkish and Vietnamese, each with an audio version, and a free interpreter service is available. To book you need your NSW driver licence number, Photo Card number or Transport for NSW customer number, plus payment and the Licence Application form, and an Online Services account is optional. The Driver Licensing Access Program helps people from disadvantaged backgrounds and Aboriginal communities get a licence.

About the video clips

Aussie Learner does not host the official HPT video clips. The footage is the agency's protected material, so use the official practice where one is published and build the scanning habit on supervised drives.

Common questions

When can I take the NSW hazard perception test?

Under 25: after 10 months on a learner licence. 25 or over: when ready.

What happens in the NSW HPT?

15 scored videos after 2 practice videos, on a touch screen.

What is the NSW HPT pass mark?

Transport for NSW and Service NSW does not state a numeric pass mark on the pages read.

How much is the NSW hazard perception test?

$58 each attempt

Is there an official NSW HPT practice test?

Transport for NSW publishes no official practice test. Its HPT page says third party HPT practice tests are not the same as the NSW test and will not help you pass, and it names the Hazard Perception Handbook as the way to prepare.