Australian Capital Territory, car licence
Hazard Perception Test ACT (HPT)
The ACT Hazard Perception Test is an online test of 25 short videos that learners take after 3 months on their Ls, with the first attempt free and $27.90 for each attempt after that.
The ACT HPT at a glance
- Official name
- Hazard Perception Test (HPT)
- When you can sit it
- From 3 months after getting an ACT learner licence.
- Format
- 25 videos of about 15 seconds, about 20 to 30 minutes.
- Pass mark
- Not stated on the official pages read
- Fee
- The first attempt is free. Every further attempt costs $27.90, paid before the test.
Official practice test
The official practice test has three questions you can attempt as many times as you like, at any time. ACT Safe Plates Testing also suggests it as the way to check the test works on your device.
Open ACT Safe Plates Testing: HPT practice testFrom learner licence to provisional licence
Access Canberra lists four steps to a car P licence: hold the learner licence for at least 12 months, or 6 months if you were 25 or older when you got it; complete the online HPT; drive your supervised hours, 100 including 10 at night if the licence was issued before you turned 25, or 50 including 5 at night if you were 25 or older; then get assessed through competency based training and assessment or a one-off practical driving assessment. Access Canberra then mails a P1 licence to drivers under 25 and a P2 licence to drivers aged 25 or older, and the provisional licence is held for 3 years before it becomes a full licence.
Who can sit it, and when
You can take the test online at any time from three months after you get your ACT learner licence, entering your name and learner licence number. Every learner licence holder issued with or renewing a learner licence after 1 January 2020 must pass it before upgrading to an ACT provisional licence.
What happens in the sitting
You watch 25 videos of about 15 seconds each, and the test takes about 20 to 30 minutes. It times out after 10 minutes without activity, and a time out counts as a failed attempt. A bigger screen makes hazards easier to see, and if you cannot see well part way through you can switch to another device within 10 minutes and carry on. A completion certificate appears at the end, and you do not need to bring it when you apply for your licence.
Where to sit it
Online, on the ACT Safe Plates Testing site that Access Canberra links to. For a technical problem during the test, call 13 22 81.
If you do not pass
After a first fail you are locked out for 24 hours and must pay for the next attempt. After a second fail the lock-out is three days, and the next attempt is paid again.
Preparing, and what else the agency says
ACT Safe Plates Testing points to research linking the test to later crash risk, including evidence that drivers who failed it at least twice were more likely to crash than those who passed on the first attempt. After a fail it suggests practising the scenarios again, taking more supervised drives or booking a professional lesson before the next paid attempt. It describes the test as measuring a person's ability to detect and respond to potentially dangerous situations on the road, and asks for a stable internet connection before you start.
About the video clips
Aussie Learner does not host the official HPT video clips. The footage is the agency's protected material, so use the official practice where one is published and build the scanning habit on supervised drives.
Common questions
When can I take the ACT hazard perception test?
From 3 months after getting an ACT learner licence.
What happens in the ACT HPT?
25 videos of about 15 seconds, about 20 to 30 minutes.
What is the ACT HPT pass mark?
Access Canberra and ACT Safe Plates Testing does not state a numeric pass mark on the pages read.
How much is the ACT hazard perception test?
Free first attempt, then $27.90
Is there an official ACT HPT practice test?
The official practice test has three questions you can attempt as many times as you like, at any time. ACT Safe Plates Testing also suggests it as the way to check the test works on your device.
Sources
Each official page below was opened and read on 15 September 2026.
Keep studying
- Australian Capital Territory learner test hubThe knowledge test facts and free practice tests for this jurisdiction.
- ACT road rules questions with answersEvery practice question by topic, with the answer and its rule.
- ACT motorcycle learners test practiceThe rider knowledge test hub for the same jurisdiction.
- Hazard perception tests across AustraliaWhen each jurisdiction sets its HPT, what it costs and where the official practice is.